Merry Christmas

Standard
Merry Christmas

What’s up world, it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything, but I decided to make a return to the blogging world today. This is something like a Christmas present, not to you, but to myself. The primary purpose of my blog, albeit was initially a school project and a sounding board for my thoughts. It developed into more of a convenient way for me to vent and voice my frustrations about life, at my own personal expense and in a rather comedic fashion. If you’ve read previous entries I’m sure you instantly thought back to the passport and laptop issues. Yeah I’m an idiot I know, however, this entry is going to be a bit more serious, depressing and therapeutic. Well for me at least, and no I do not want any of you to pity me.

Long story short, at no point at the ripe old age of 23, although I feel 25, did I ever expect to be spending Christmas alone. Sad statement right? Yeah, but at the end of the day I brought this upon myself. I made a conscious decision and choice to be in the position that I’m in now.
What decision was that?
It was the decision for me to become a professional Basketball player. Oh, it sure might seem like one of the most glamorous and easiest jobs out there. But what many people don’t see is the sacrifice that really goes into it, ESPECIALLY in the life of an overseas player.
Don’t get me wrong now it has its benefits, being A. You get to do what you love for a living, B. You get to play a game for a living, C. You get to see the world on someone else’s bill , the list is really endless.
The drawbacks, months and months away from your loved ones. Yeah, this job isn’t for everyone. I’m not going to lie, I never thought these feelings would really bother me like this. However, I never foresaw myself missing Christmas with my family. Now before you all start over thinking I’m not talking about the kind of Christmas where I stay up all night waiting for some fat imaginary white man (We know he can’t be black, because when I was nine I would have got Jordan’s instead of Fila’s) comes down my imaginary chimney and gives me gifts. I’m talking about the jokes (Banter), food and just love that only your family can provide. At the end of the day that’s what Christmas is really about, (Other than Jesus’ Birthday and all that good stuff) it’s about who’s around your tree and not what’s under it. People generally take family for granted; I’ve been guilty of it before, but Christmas 2012 has provided me with a refreshing dose of perspective. I just hope the rest of you don’t have to experience this to understand what you’re really missing. J’s could be worth it though, not even going to lie lol.
Merry Christmas and happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

