School of motoring

Standard

Day 2 was something else.

It started with a trip to the office which was nothing special, I just had to fill out some paper work and collect some gear. After that it got interesting. To start, a staff member notified me with a potential opportunity to write a weekly column in a local paper.  This is definitely something I’m interested in but at this moment in time as usual basketball is my first priority.  Maybe after preseason? Who knows.
Next on the to do list was a driving lesson, and as you know a few things in England are a little bit backwards to an American.  The most apparent difference is the fact that out here we are forced to drive on the left hand side.  Granted 66% of the world drives on the right hand side, the British are a part of the minority. I just didn’t understand why so naturally I googled it and was given this answer.
“About a quarter of the world drives on the left, and the countries that do are mostly old British colonies. This strange quirk perplexes the rest of the world; but there is a perfectly good reason.
In the past, almost everybody travelled on the left side of the road because that was the most sensible option for feudal, violent societies. Since most people are right-handed, swordsmen preferred to keep to the left in order to have their right arm nearer to an opponent and their scabbard further from him. Moreover, it reduced the chance of the scabbard (worn on the left) hitting other people.
Furthermore, a right-handed person finds it easier to mount a horse from the left side of the horse, and it would be very difficult to do otherwise if wearing a sword (which would be worn on the left). It is safer to mount and dismount towards the side of the road, rather than in the middle of traffic, so if one mounts on the left, then the horse should be ridden on the left side of the road.”
Too bad its now 2011 and people aren’t riding around on horses. But anyway, I couldn’t have imagined that rolling around Plymouth with a middle aged Indian man could be so hilarious. Aside from pointing out the obvious facts that I need to stay on the left hand side of the road and etc, he also managed to lead my eyes to the behinds of women of various ages shapes and sizes, despite my lack of interest.  To say the least we have very different tastes in women. Although, he did end up providing me with some advice on flying some choice people out here.  But back to my struggles, I really felt like I was back in Driver’s Ed, except I was just a little bit worse off this time through. I hit the curb multiple times, almost ran over a biker and managed to get flicked off by a mother and her young son. Good job right? Long story short, I don’t plan on taking a car out any time soon.

Day 3 is ongoing, we started the day off with conditioning and lifting. I was expecting something a bit different but it ended up being something I was semi familiar with. For my former Lehigh teammates out there, imagine court agilities with a heart rate monitor, aka no lining up behind Big john or Maneri to coast through the workout lol. Also, a British version of Eric Markovcy does exist, but I’m ready to get on the court.

78/90

 


Leave a Reply

