Hump Day

Standard

Today was a good day, most hump days are. As of late these days have really been longer than ever. As I’ve stated many times before I’m waking up between 5:40 and 6:00 a.m to take my mom to work and then get a solid two workouts in before camp: A good 45 min to an hour of cardio and then a decent shooting workout. To then work a full day of camp from 9-3 and follow it up with another on the court workout. Trust this is not remotely easy, especially after pretty much standing for the entire day. But it’s just one of those things that has to be done. All of these workouts and such were obviously beneficial to my game but the most important strides I made today came from the mental aspect of the game.
As usual, Bd invites guest speakers throughout the week to speak to the kids. Today he brought Demar Derozan and Pooh Jete. Demar didn’t go into great depths about his journey to the nba but Jeter did.
Jeter is an undrafted rookie who definitely took the road less traveled to get to the league. He made pit stops in the Nba-D league, the Spanish ACB, among other European leagues. The message I took from him was to never give up on your goals and dreams.
The second positive mental message I received today came from a trainer. He simply stressed that basketball was now a business for me, which is true. I now have the opportunity to play for my livelihood and survival, and I need to enjoy it.
He also stressed professionalism. As always, the little things matter, such as being on time, being respectful to coaches, representing myself and the team well and etc. He imparted many wise words with me about men who have been very talented but lacked the ability to show up on time, be respectful and just stay out of trouble, which resulted in them getting sent home.
Yeah, that definitely is not an option.

56/90

Leave a Reply

