The Road Less Taken

Standard

Throughout the course of life adversity happens. Breakdowns are going to happen, we’re going to get frustrated, but how we recover and grow from these moments is what will define us. There are two roads we can take: the common road, which more often than not ends up in an individual reacting negatively and giving into the break down. Or the road less taken, which requires one to take something positive from a breakdown and learn from it.

I am a fan of the latter, and that is how I am looking at the bit of mental adversity that I faced last night. Of course, true to form this pertains to basketball. It is truly a blessing for me to have people in my life who are willing to be 100% honest with me. This has allowed me to be honest with myself and will only make me a better person. The fact that I know what my faults are will ultimately make it easier for me to correct them. (Staying low with the ball, and not relying solely on my jumper). Of course that is not without a substantial amount of hard work, focus, and dedication. (Some of my teammates would definitely laugh at this mini quote) But I get it, instead of getting angry about it I’m choosing to embrace it. Thus placing me on the road less taken.
Trying to be a professional basketball player coming from a small mid-major school was simply a pit stop on the road and from here it will only become harder.

This road will be tough, and will lead me to some dead ends, wrong turns or whatever other metaphors / allegories for mistakes and or failures you can think of. That cannot deter me, I have to fail to know how to succeed, and that will make all the difference.

As my boy Robert Frost said,

“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

8/90

2 responses »

  1. It’s good that you know where you’re going before you decide on any kind of road. Too many of us lack that vision, including myself, I just know that I want to get moving, haha. That’s why I’m joining the blog challenge via jakehuber.com and following #LUBlogTribe via @huberjake– because right now I just want to write. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

