Reality

Standard
This post might be the realest thing that I write pertaining to myself and basketball. This little blog might just become a personal diary, where I just get a whole bunch of thoughts about life out to the world.
I am my own worst enemy, I am the one that is limiting myself. I am more than capable and more than gifted enough physically to do anything that I want with basketball. I have the body and the skill set to be a first league professional overseas.
Will I do it? Yes. Will it be easy? No.
I have to find a way to quickly and systematically deprogram myself from almost everything that I have become as a basketball player in the past four years.  I’m no longer playing in a system that I honestly felt limited me, and I’m no longer playing in a program that I feel didn’t help me develop as a player.  That chapter of my life is over, and I need to go back to the player I was that got me to this point in the first place. It is hard to excel at something when you consistently have someone telling you “you can’t”, “you aren’t good at that”, “I’m not saying your bad at it, I just feel like it would be better if you outlet the ball when you rebound it”, oh that makes so much sense -_-. I could use a mass amount of expletives and a variety of other choice words, but they will just diminish the literary value of this post, so to make a long story short those days have long since past.
Before anyone even thinks about saying it or even thinks about it, I’m not making excuses. All that was on me, and it’s completely on me to change all of it as well.
I became soft, mentally and physically in my college days. I lost the mental edge that got me there in the first place. That chip on my shoulder was removed, my true passion was bottled up, certain people don’t know how to handle a certain type of player. So I was forced to adapt, yeah that’s over now, the angry, seemingly irrational basketball player is back. “Angry mike” is back because that is what is needed right now. That fuck you, me against the world mentality, is back. But don’t get it twisted, appearances may fool you at no point am I that mad.
I’ll be completely honest with everyone, I am BROKE, granted I was blessed with a college scholarship and I don’t have any substantial loans to pay-off. I have zero money, my family is in a not so fortunate situation, and I need to bring something to the table.  My contribution will come through basketball, it is and will always be my plan A. I was given a $200,000 + education to provide me with a plan B, but I honestly hope it doesn’t come to that point and that I can just continue this whole writing thing as a recreational activity.
Welcome to my life.
7/90
2 responses »

  1. Having that sort of drive, knowing what you want and who you want to be is a gift. No matter how much it frustrates you, no matter how many people tell you that you are wrong or can’t do it, I hope you never give up.
    I think having yourself as your own worst enemy is the best enemy you could possibly ask for. So many people need someone hanging over there shoulder telling them what to do and who to be. Believing in what you are capable of, and never settling for less is much more difficult.
    I only really know you from Jeremy’s class and this challenge, but the way you write about basketball is the way I think about writing. We’re a rare breed and I wish you all the luck in the world. You’ll get there.

  2. ‘“Angry mike” is back because that is what is needed right now. That fuck you, me against the world mentality, is back. But don’t get it twisted, appearances may fool you at no point am I that mad.’

    Of all the sentences in this post, this is the one that I nodded so hard to, my head probably wanted to fall off. That determination and the drive that Sarah already talked about is just huge.

    I didn’t get a chance to get to know you during the Jeremy’s COMM100 experience, but I feel like I am through your writing. #LUBlogTribe’s rooting for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

