The Journey, Die Reise, El Viaje, Le Voyage, A Jornada, το ταξίδι

Standard

Today is Father’s day, one of the many hallmark holidays that occur during the calendar year. Many of us take the time to spend this day with father figures who have provided for them in a monetary sense, in addition to aiding them emotionally, mentally and all that good stuff. I have it that we as a generation need to find a way to give back. But one of the most important gifts that a father can give a child is the desire to give back and help others. By give back I don’t mean in a monetary sense, we need to share our life experiences and the lessons we have learned with younger members of our generation.
The main lesson that I feel that basketball players like myself should share is that it is truly a privilege to play this game at a high level. If you have the right drive and ambition the game can take you to many different places.

My love of the game brought me to Bethlehem, Pennsylvania and Lehigh University. Prior to my senior year of high school I didn’t know either place existed. My boy @_tjtaylor happened to make an early decision to go there and I looked at him like he was crazy for choosing that school. Next thing I knew I was being recruited by the same school, and in a blink of an eye I was in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania aka the middle of no where. To make a long story short it was a great experience.
Basketball now has the opportunity to take me overseas, as of now its looking like I’m going to end up in Germany, Denmark, France, Spain or England. Ill be privileged to play in any country to say the least, but ambition, hard work and dedication has got me to this point and hopefully can carry me further. To many, taking the route I did and going to a smaller Division 1 school would seem like a dead end. But in reality it was still an opportunity for me to play college basketball and its given me the chance to play basketball professionally.
This is almost exactly the message I want the youth to hear, you don’t need to attend the large sports driven university to be a professional basketball player.
With basketball being the brotherhood that it is, I feel like younger players need to know that just because they don’t go to a high major D-1 that doesn’t mean the journey is ending. I can’t help but think of the Dr. Seuss story ‘Oh! the places you’ll go,’

“Oh, the places you’ll go! There is fun to be done! There are points to be scored. There are games to be won. And the magical things you can do with that ball will make you the winning-est winner of all. Fame! You’ll be famous as famous can be, with the whole wide world watching you win on TV. Except when they don’t. Because, sometimes, they won’t.

I’m afraid that some times you’ll play lonely games too. Games you can’t win ‘cause you’ll play against you.

All Alone!
Whether you like it or not, Alone will be something you’ll be quite a lot.

And when you’re alone, there’s a very good chance you’ll meet things that scare you right out of your pants. There are some, down the road between hither and yon, that can scare you so much you won’t want to go on.

But on you will go though the weather be foul. On you will go though your enemies prowl. On you will go though the Hakken-Kraks howl. Onward up many a frightening creek, though your arms may get sore and your sneakers may leak. On and on you will hike. And I know you’ll hike far and face up to your problems whatever they are.

You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left.

And will you succeed?
Yes! You will, indeed!”

The journey is really just beginning.

4/90

Leave a Reply

